Inga's Lingua BLOG – all about Language & Culture

Sign Up to have a Spanish Program Custom Designed for you at www.ingaslingua.com

Phone Service in Mexico

After safely landing in Mexico for a long awaited chance to finally practice and learn Spanish with native speakers, my first task was to purchase a cell phone. The hotel that I booked offered a pick-up service from the airport but I was required to call them when I arrived so that they could send the car.

The most appropriate option for phone service would be a prepaid one as I did not plan to stay for the length of a contract which I assumed would be one to two years.  Upon exiting the security check at the airport there were several phone service stores.  I decided I would visit each store to figure out what rates were available to ensure I got the best (cheapest) deal.

airportEach store I visited promoted their phone plans in different ways which taught me new information about how the plans worked and ultimately created more questions for me to return to the other providers to get answers to.  One factor that I needed to consider was the rate for calling to the U.S versus making calls in Mexico.  While I planned to call home mostly using Skype I knew there would be instances where I needed to use the cell phone, including to talk to family members, such as my grandmother, who do not use Skype.

After walking back and forth to the different carriers and asking questions I selected the best service and was able to pay for it with my credit card.  I later learned that many of the stores that provide minute refilling services only accept payment in cash.

Depending on your needs be sure you know what all your options are before making a final decision about the type of service you want to choose.  Other options might include bringing your cell phone from home to use for a fee or to use with a SIM card.

I met the most wonderful couple from the U.S. who had brought their iPhones to Mexico and were using their regular carrier with an additional global service for an additional fee during their visit.  Their family was able to call them like they were still in the states.  Check with your carrier to see if this is an option for you.

At the time, my phone service provider was MetroPCS, and while there was a “MetroPCS” in Mexico my U.S. phone was not compatible.  I brought my cell phone with me but it was not compatible with the SIM cards that were available.  Ultimately, I ended up purchasing the most inexpensive phone available, which I would recommend for others who are concerned about safety abroad.  Check out my thoughts on cell phones and Safety In Mexico.

Leave a comment

Information

This entry was posted on April 22, 2014 by in Language Learning Journey, Mexico.